Home / News / Need to Hear / Avatar Release Bold New Album ‘Hunter Gatherer’

Avatar Release Bold New Album ‘Hunter Gatherer’

The highly anticipated eighth full-length album from AVATAR titled Hunter Gatherer arrived today via Entertainment One (eOne), marking their darkest and most insightful record of their near decade long career. The band has celebrated the monumental release by sharing new lyric videos for select songs from the album, including highlights such as “A Secret Door” which features Corey Taylor (Slipknot, Stone Sour), and the dizzyingly heavy album closer “Wormhole”. These new visuals follow the previously released tracks “Colossus”, “God of Sick Dreams”, and “Silence in the Age of Apes” – the latter of which is already named one of the best metal songs of the year so far by Loudwire – that revealed the band’s new wardrobes and unrelenting yet immersive new ideas piece by piece.

A striking and bold manifesto, Hunter Gatherer, is an unflinchingly ruthless study of a clueless humankind’s ever-increasing velocity into an uncertain future, furthering the reach of the band’s always expanding dark roots. Recorded entirely to two-inch tape with producer Jay Ruston (Stone Sour, Anthrax), Hunter Gatherer exhibits everything that makes AVATAR standouts in the vast, rich landscape of heavy metal’s past and present. Hunter Gatherer is out now through Entertainment One (eOne) and available here.

1. Silence in the Age of Apes
2. Colossus
3. A Secret Door
4. God of Sick Dreams
5. Scream Until You Wake
6. Child
7. Justice
8. Gun
9. When All but Force Has Failed
10. Wormhole


About Mark Smitty Neal

NewYork Based Photographer. Music Enthusiast with a background in Graphic Design. Whether I'm shooting a live event or just out wondering the streets its about capturing the moment.

Check Also

British Indie Rockers JODY AND THE JERMS Impress On Debut Album

Oxford, England’s Jody and the Jerms have released their debut full length album, Deeper, featuring the single ‘It’s All Up …

%d bloggers like this: