Home / Headline News / Fleetwood Mac to unveil unheard ‘Rumours’ live double LP

Fleetwood Mac to unveil unheard ‘Rumours’ live double LP

46 years after its 1977 release, Fleetwood Mac’s pinnacle album Rumours is just as popular as ever. Thanks to a renewed obsession with hit single “Dreams” (shout-out DoggFace) and an unwavering fascination with the entangled love stories of its five band members, Fleetwood Mac’s angsty breakup album continues to thrive in its second revival. While on a world tour promoting the newly released album, the band returned to their transplanted home of California to perform three shows at The Forum in Los Angeles. The electric energy of the band’s opening night on August 29, 1977, was captured in a live recording, to be released for the first time on September 8.

Rhino Entertainment has announced its release of the band’s 1977 concert at The Forum, recorded during the Rumours Tour. Rumours Live is set to debuts as a double live album arriving on September 8. The album will be available as 2-CD and 2-LP sets. The black-vinyl version has two 180-gram records in a gatefold jacket with lacquers cut by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering. Pre-order is available here. Also, a crystal clear-vinyl version of Rumours Live will be released the same day as an indie exclusive. The music will be available from digital and streaming platforms. The unreleased live version of “Dreams” is available today digitally.

Fleetwood Mac was at the top of its game in August 1977 when the band returned to its adopted home in Southern California to play three shows at The Forum in Los Angeles. Rumours had only been out a few weeks when the band left in February to tour the world, returning six months later to play three shows at The Forum for nearly 50,000 fans. Rumours was the #1 album in America and well on its way to becoming one of the most successful ever released. Rumours eventually sold more than 40 million copies worldwide and has just been certified 21x platinum in the U.S. The record has also been certified 14x Platinum in the U.K., and 13x Platinum in Australia and New Zealand, all countries where the album reached #1.

Rumours Live captures the energy and excitement of the band’s opening night at The Forum on August 29, 1977. The nearly 90-minute performance includes live versions of most of the songs from Rumours and Fleetwood Mac, the group’s first multi-platinum #1 album, which came out in 1975. The concert remained unreleased for decades until 2021, when “Gold Dust Woman” from the show was included as a bonus track on Live: Deluxe Edition, Rhino’s expanded version of Fleetwood Mac’s 1980 concert album. The other 17 songs on the collection have never been released before.

The concert’s setlist draws almost exclusively from Fleetwood Mac and Rumours, the first two albums recorded by the band’s latest incarnation: Mick Fleetwood, John McVie, and Christine McVie, and the newest members, Stevie Nicks, and Lindsey Buckingham. The lone nod to Fleetwood Mac’s other nine studio albums is a performance of “Oh Well,” a rock-guitar masterpiece originally released in 1969 and written by the band’s founder, guitarist Peter Green. Engineer Ken Caillat, who helped record Rumours, also recorded the concert at The Forum using the Record Plant’s mobile recording truck. He captured the band’s impassioned performance at a moment of peak Rumours frenzy, including powerful versions of “Landslide,” “Never Going Back Again,” “Songbird,” and “The Chain.”

Rumours Live is sure to stir up emotions with never-before heard lives cuts of iconic tracks and a visceral energy from the band at its peak prowess and zealous fan reaction.

RUMOURS LIVE 2-LP Track Listing

LP One

Side One:

1. “Say You Love Me”

2. “Monday Morning”

3. “Dreams”

4. “Oh Well”

5. “Rhiannon”

Side Two:

1. “Oh Daddy”

2. “Never Going Back Again”

3. “Landslide”

4. “Over My Head”

5. “Gold Dust Woman”

LP Two

Side One:

1. “You Make Loving Fun”

2. “I’m So Afraid”

3. “Go Your Own Way”

4. “World Turning”

Side Two:

1. “Blue Letter”

2. “The Chain”

3. “Second Hand News”

4. “Songbird”

Fleetwood Mac Online: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Spotify | Apple Music 

About Emma Furrier

Boston-based music writer and reviewer. Passionate about rock and roll, vinyl collecting, and any dog I’ve ever met.

Check Also

Johnathan|Christian Release New Single, “Résistance, Mon Amie” in Solidarity of LGBTQ+

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 24, 2023 – Trans-Atlantic dark music duo, Johnathan|Christian, have released their …

%d bloggers like this: