Home / Photography / Review & Gallery: Sum 41 at Starland Ballroom, Sayreville NJ 10.13.16

Review & Gallery: Sum 41 at Starland Ballroom, Sayreville NJ 10.13.16

It’s safe to say that 2016 is feeling a whole lot like the early 2000’s. Sum 41 just recently returned to the charts with the release of the highly anticipated album 13 Voices, and although they’ve wittily dubbed their tour “Don’t Call It a Sum-Back Tour,” we can’t think of it as anything but. Sum 41 has been effortlessly selling out venues this tour, and October 13th’s show at NJ’s Starland Ballroom was no different. Packing the venue to capacity and bristling from opening performances by UK’s As It Is and New Jersey’s own Senses Fail, the crowd was deafening when Sum 41 finally hit the stage to “Introduction to Destruction.”

It’s been five years since the release of Screaming Bloody Murder, and a long journey to get back on the road, but according to frontman Deryck Whibley, the time was finally just right. Whibley left his heart out on that stage that night, not only when he opened up about the tumultuous road to recovery that lead to the eventual recording of 13 Voices, but with each and every song of their massive, though really well-balanced setlist (see below).

To call it a rowdy night would be like pointing out the sky is blue. Nothing else to be expected from a pop-punk show that is such a throw back to so many fans in the audience. And although the tour is clearly a celebration of Sum 41’s return to the scene, it didn’t even feel like they’ve been away for that long.  It’s tough to be critical when it’s clear that the band is functioning like a perfectly-oiled machine. There’s certainly no lack of passion in their performance. So whether you’re an old-school fan nostalgic for that lost era of early 2000’s pop-punk, or simply intrigued by what you might have seen on Warped Tour this summer, score yourself a ticket to the tour if you can and let the guys take you on one hell of a rambunctious journey.


Check out some of our shots from the show:

01. The Hell Song
02. Over My Head (Better Off Dead)
03. Fake My Own Death
04. Goddamn I’m Dead Again
05. Underclass Hero
06. Screaming Bloody Murder
07. There Will Be Blood
08. War
09. Motivation (with 88 outro)
10. The Trooper (Iron Maiden cover)
11. Grab the Devil by the Horns and Fuck Him Up the Ass
12. We’re All to Blame
13. Walking Disaster
14. With Me
15. God Save Us All (Death to POP)
16. Drum Solo
17. No Reason
18. We Will Rock You (Queen cover)
19. Still Waiting
20. In Too Deep

21. Pieces
22. 13 Voices
23. Fat Lip

13 Voices landed at #9 on the Billboard Top Albums chart. In addition, 13 Voices secured the #5 spot for LP Vinyl Albums, #6 for Alternative Albums, #7 for both Rock Albums and Top Internet, and landed at #22 on the Billboard Top 200!

Get 13 Voices here:
Physical (Target exclusive CD with 4 bonus tracks) | iTunes | Spotify

Sum 41 Tour Dates

Website | Facebook | Twitter

About Ana Santos

Photographer, explorer, music lover, writer, coffee addict and slave to three cats.

Check Also

Exclusive Interview With David Sprague Of Psychopath Etiquette

Psychopath Etiquette is literally a band of brothers. David Sprague and Paul Sprague are based …

%d bloggers like this: