Home / News / Music Video / Neck Deep premiere TWO new versions of ‘December’ featuring Mark Hoppus and Chris Carrabba!

Neck Deep premiere TWO new versions of ‘December’ featuring Mark Hoppus and Chris Carrabba!

Neck Deep have released two new versions of the hit track ‘December’, from their 2015 album Life’s Not Out To Get You. The newly recorded tracks feature Mark Hoppus (of Blink-182) and Chris Carrabba (of Dashboard Confessional), and appear side by side on a 7’’ record (pre-order available here).

The band, which signed to Hopeless Records in 2013, released the album Life’s Not Out To Get You in 2015, which featured the original version of “December”. “December is based on a scenario I found myself in a few years ago – an ex-girlfriend totally fucked me over, and left me out in the cold trying to figure out what was going on,” states singer Ben Barlow; “The song is essentially a story about that relationship, a mentally apathetic take on how it all went down, where I essentially blamed myself.”

Now, the track is getting a facelift (well two, really) as well as two brand new music videos. Chris Carrabba brings a new layer of spine tingling emotion to the acoustic version of the stellar track, whilst Mark Hoppus is featured on the full band recording, his instantly recognizable vocal adding a trademark energy. Barlow shares: “To have Mark and Chris featuring on each version of the track is wild, seeing as they’re huge – if not some of the biggest – musical influences for us. The different versions of the track are pretty fitting for the pair of them, and their voices really lend something extra to it all. It’s pretty surreal to be hearing our idols on a track of ours. We all had a moment listening back just thinking “What the fuck, how are Mark Hoppus and Chris Carrabba on a Neck Deep track? Surreal.”

Accompanying the songs are a pair of music videos which tell a singular bittersweet story across the two parts.

Neck Deep recently wrapped up a 4 month world tour – on which they played 71 shows in 15 countries, travelled 53,000 miles and sold over 52,000 tickets

Formed in 2012, Neck Deep is vocalist Ben Barlow, guitarists Matt West and Sam Bowden, bassist Fil Thorpe-Evans and drummer Dani Washington. The band has been seen on the covers of major music publications such as Kerrang!, Rock Sound and Alternative Press Magazine. Dubbed as one of the ‘Best Pop Punk Albums Of All Time’ by Kerrang!, their latest album, Life’s Not Out To Get You, debuted on the top 10 charts in both the USA and UK.

About Music Existence

Check Also

Moon Tooth release official music video for “Nymphaeaceae”

Moon Tooth, the Long Island-based foursome whose 2019 album, Crux, landed on year-end, Top 10 …

%d bloggers like this: