Home / News / Candlebox Returns With New Album April 22nd

Candlebox Returns With New Album April 22nd

Candlebox, the influential, multi-platinum rock band from the powerful 90’s Seattle music movement, returns with their long-overdue sixth album Disappearing in Airports on Pavement Entertainment on April 22. The new album showcases the group’s introspective and poetically candid songwriting with their signature musical immediacy.

The first single “Vexatious” is being released to radio on February 2 with digital pre-orders for the album starting on February 5. Disappearing In Airports will be available on all digital platforms (iTunes, Amazon, YouTubeRed, Spotify, Pandora, Apple Music) and is distributed by MRI/Sony RED.

Listen to “Vexatious” right here!

Pre-Order the album now on iTunes!

“Vexatious is about the social networking-obsessed, unlimited bragging rights society we live in, where people come off as entitled yet so insecure,” says Martin. “Whether it’s a pop star feuding senselessly with another pop star, or people who can’t help but to take 50 different selfies in under a minute missing everything that’s happening around them, it’s a sad commentary on life that we can’t escape. Dating apps, bitching apps, secret sharing apps, apps apps apps—they all operate outside of any real or authentic human connection. It’s disconnect everywhere and it’s destroying us. No one cares what anyone else thinks or feels. It’s all ‘me, me, me’ and, if you ask me, it’s fucking sad.”

Formed in Seattle in 1991, Candlebox went quadruple platinum with their 1993 self titled debut and released two more acclaimed and top-selling albums (1995’s Lucy and 1998’s Happy Pills) before going on a hiatus in 2000. Candlebox regrouped with a 2006 tour, then put out Into the Sun in 2008, followed by 2012’s Love Stories & Other Musings. Candlebox remains one of the most highly requested and played groups on radio, including the band’s mega hits “Far Behind” and “You.”

For Disappearing in Airports, the band worked with producers Carson Slovak and Grant McFarland (August Burns Red, Everclear, Rivers of Nihl), cutting the record at Think Loud Studios in York, Pennsylvania. With Martin, Dave Krusen on drums, Adam Kury on bass and the addition of guitarists Mike Leslie and Brian Quinn, the recommitment to creating music that is ‘pissed and urgent’ as well as bringing a new energy to the live show is at this records’ core.

Candlebox will be embarking on a string of acoustic dates in January and February with a world tour kicking off in April, including performances at festivals including Lollapalooza Chile, Welcome to Rockville and Carolina Rebellion. Tour dates below.

Candlebox Tour dates:
2 Albany, NY: The Swyer Theater at The Egg
3 Millville, NJ: Levoy Theater
4 Manhattan: City Winery
9 Sellersville, PA: Sellersville Theater
10 Ridgefield, CT: Ridgefield Playhouse
11 Londonderry, NH: Tupelo Music Hall
12 Londonderry, NH: Tupelo Music all

17 Lima, Peru
19 Santiago, Chile: Lollapalooza

30 Jacksonville, FL: Welcome To Rockville, Metropolitan Park

6 Concord, NC: Carolina Rebellion, Charlotte Motor Speedway

Twitter | Facebook | Official Website

About Music Existence

Check Also

Electronic post hardcore outfit The Failsafe release their latest song “Dying to Exist”

FFO: Dayseeker, Bad Omens, Papa Roach Watch “Dying To Exist” HERE. Today, electronic post-hardcore outfit …