Home / News / Performance / Royal Philharmonic Orchestra with Pinchas Zukerman – Friday, January 8 at NJPAC

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra with Pinchas Zukerman – Friday, January 8 at NJPAC

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Friday, January 8
Doors at 7:30pm; Performance at 8:00pm
Featuring Pinchas Zukerman, Conductor / Violinist

at New Jersey Performing Arts Center
1 Center Street, Newark NJ
Doors at 7:30pm; Performance at 8:00pm
Tickets Start at $29

Violinist, violist, chamber musician, conductor, teacher – for almost a half-century, Pinchas Zukerman has been an evergreen phenomenon in the world of music. Since 2009, Zukerman has held the post of principal guest conductor of London’s Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. So it will be no surprise that when he returns with the RPO to NJPAC, he will be the conductor and the violin soloist in a program of works by Elgar, Mozart and Brahms.

Zukerman will pick up the violin and also lead the RPO in a performance of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5. His affinity for (and command of) the Mozart concertos began when he was in his teens. A few years ago, Zukerman told an interviewer, “I think I learned a lot by being in Europe early on, when I was 17, 18. There’s a distinct sonority that the German orchestras get in Mozart, a lushness without being thick. I think it has to do with the German language itself. They play it in a very different manner because of the language.”

In his 2014 American tour with the RPO, Zukerman won fresh praise for his conducting in an all-Beethoven program. The Orange County Register wrote, “Zukerman’s way was both at ease and disciplined, coaxing warm and flowing playing from the orchestra even as he made cogent and even compact work of the phrases … the beauty of sound and Zukerman’s intelligence in guiding it could hardly be bettered.”

Join NJPAC for the Bank of America Classical Overtures, held an hour prior to each classical concert. These interactive presentations are hosted by Maestro George Marriner Maull of New Jersey’s Discovery Orchestra and are free to ticket holders.

Elgar: Serenade for Strings
Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 5
Brahms: Symphony No. 1

About Music Existence

Check Also


Buzzing genre disruptor HU$H ignites a new single entitled “CHOKE” out now via Strange Music. …